Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > General discussion about Access Virus

General discussion about Access Virus Discussion about Virus A, B, C and TI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16.09.2017, 08:53 AM
Sachizm Sachizm is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 15.06.2017
Posts: 4
Default Can I mute tracks in a multi?

Hi
Ive been gigging with a TI desktop for a few months and have made some epic multis. I'm wondering if there is a way to mute-unmute tracks in the multi so I can keep layering sounds without menu diving.

Whilst Im here is there a way to tell how much CPU you are using in a multi? Ive noticed when I layer to many sounds sometimes some notes will kind of conk out, with no tail. Other times there is some digital distortion but I wonder if that is more volume related.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26.09.2017, 11:09 AM
oli@bass oli@bass is offline
Definately caught something...
Very mucho Newbie
 
Join Date: 25.05.2016
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sachizm View Post
Ive been gigging with a TI desktop for a few months and have made some epic multis. I'm wondering if there is a way to mute-unmute tracks in the multi so I can keep layering sounds without menu diving.
Not directly on the Virus. If using a good master keyboard, you can set up the Virus use different MIDI channels for each part and then set up the layering in your master keyboard. Then you can mute channels on your master keyboard either by deactivating the layer or by sending MIDI CCs to the Virus.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sachizm View Post
Whilst Im here is there a way to tell how much CPU you are using in a multi?
There is no way to see the overall CPU load for a Multi.
You have to listen to your sound and check if you hear voice stealing or if percussive sounds start to lose some of their character.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sachizm View Post
Ive noticed when I layer to many sounds sometimes some notes will kind of conk out, with no tail. Other times there is some digital distortion but I wonder if that is more volume related.

What you describe as "digital distortion" happens if the volume of the patch and the volume of the Multi's Part are too hot. The Virus TI has a very powerful EQ which settings can contribute as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03.10.2017, 08:40 AM
Sachizm Sachizm is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 15.06.2017
Posts: 4
Default

thanks for the reply, I'll start finding out how to set that up with my controller, now I hope saving $200 by getting a Behringer u-control instead of a Roland A-800 doesn't come back to bite me.

I've found that the distortion is coming from some of the individual patches. One called Etheral SV for instance, if I get too dramatic with that patch it distorts. I mean it is a huge and detailed sounding pad. I'm assuming it's because it builds on itself if you prolong chords, so is that a volume induced distortion or a CPU distortion?

Is there an internal limiter on these?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08.10.2017, 11:18 AM
oli@bass oli@bass is offline
Definately caught something...
Very mucho Newbie
 
Join Date: 25.05.2016
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sachizm View Post
I've found that the distortion is coming from some of the individual patches. One called Etheral SV for instance, if I get too dramatic with that patch it distorts. I mean it is a huge and detailed sounding pad. I'm assuming it's because it builds on itself if you prolong chords, so is that a volume induced distortion or a CPU distortion?
I tried that patch. If you turn up the Part volume fully, then it will easily distort when playing wide spread six note chords. It does not distort if you load it in Virtual Control and leave the volume slider for the Part volume at 100.

You simply run out of audio headroom with loud and rich sounds like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sachizm View Post
Is there an internal limiter on these?
No, there's no limiter. It's also stated somewhere in the Virus manual, that the Virus is made to use the available full dynamic range.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28.10.2017, 02:27 AM
Sachizm Sachizm is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 15.06.2017
Posts: 4
Default

Ahh so its volume headroom that distorts it. Not cpu. Great to know, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13.11.2017, 10:19 AM
Sachizm Sachizm is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 15.06.2017
Posts: 4
Default

Still trying to figure out if the distortion is cpu or volume related. It kicks in when i play about 5 notes and the patch builds on itself. Strangely, when i adjust the volume of the patch in edit mode it makes the distortion less noticeable the louder the volume. It drowns it out
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13.11.2017, 07:12 PM
oli@bass oli@bass is offline
Definately caught something...
Very mucho Newbie
 
Join Date: 25.05.2016
Posts: 31
Default

Can you provide a recording?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Skin Designed by: Talk vBulletin
Copyright 2002-2015, Infekted.org