Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > General discussion about Access Virus

General discussion about Access Virus Discussion about Virus A, B, C and TI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24.10.2018, 06:10 PM
i-fekted i-fekted is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 03.01.2014
Posts: 4
Default Battery change time, aargh !

My 16 year old virus c memory battery slowly fading to grey...now do I really have to do a total dump of banks A and B ..or if I don't may it just lose just the data what's in the banks and not the actual banks themselves...eg when I turn back on after installing new battery will banks A and B still be there but just empty..?..
See.. not bothered if I lose the patch's as wanting a clean slate anyway, but don't want to eradicate slots to place future patch's in...
Ok simple request of advice and yes ..sometimes I think too hard...!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24.10.2018, 09:09 PM
i-fekted i-fekted is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 03.01.2014
Posts: 4
Default Battery change time, Aargh

Changed battery, all banks A and B , still there..however illegal ram message still showing but followed a pathway which advised save an init patch to A1, then turn off..Worked for me in this instance.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24.10.2018, 10:29 PM
Timo's Avatar
Timo Timo is offline
Administrator
This forum member lives here
 
Join Date: 13.07.2003
Location: Kaoss central, England
Posts: 2,554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by i-fekted View Post
Changed battery, all banks A and B , still there..
Surprised at that, actually! I thought A+B would be wiped as they are RAM banks. Maybe the circuit has a certain amount of capacitance.

All the other banks are Flash memory, so would've been ok.

Glad you got it fixed.
__________________
PS > And another thing! Will the Ti|3 have user customisable/importable wavetables? A ribbon-controller or XY-Pad might be nice, too, please! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25.10.2018, 03:35 PM
i-fekted i-fekted is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 03.01.2014
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for reply Timo..yeah pleasantly surprised and a tad relieved it was a successful battery change..had seen that in the manual about banks A and B being wiped...I will have to get my head around the dump protocols one of these days..I hear it can be done through midi ox..? Tend to shy away from bringing computers into it though as I suffer eternal issues with transfers, installs etc..
I have been looking around for a new synth, 16 years is a long time since I got my vc new..but everytime I hear one of the newer breed I think I bet that I could replicate many of the patchs on my virus c..! (and many aren't even multi timbral).
So here's to the next 16 years
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29.11.2020, 06:37 AM
seditionary seditionary is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 29.11.2020
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by i-fekted View Post
Changed battery, all banks A and B , still there..however illegal ram message still showing but followed a pathway which advised save an init patch to A1, then turn off..Worked for me in this instance.
interesting! I passed on buying one of these today as I saw that message... we tried replacing the battery too, but still get that same message on boot up. I didn't try saving anything afterwards though... and it didn't show a message about saving a patch though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Skin Designed by: Talk vBulletin
Copyright �2002-2015, Infekted.org