Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > General discussion about Access Virus

General discussion about Access Virus Discussion about Virus A, B, C and TI.

Old 15.08.2011, 02:57 PM
Coming down with a bug...
Complete Newbie

Default Sources for Sound design

I'm new to programming this kind of synth and find the manual a little hard to understand sometime. Are there any other sources for information about learning how to program the Virus other than the manual and this forum? I am doing the MacProvideo course on programming analog synths but sometimes can't figure out how to translate the information over to the Virus.

Also any tutorials on Sound Design would help as well.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
Old 15.08.2011, 03:08 PM
Infektion taking hold...

There's two places you can head to

Howard Scarr wrote an excellent tutorial for the Virus

Also Sound on Sound ran an excellent series called Synth Secrets
Old 15.08.2011, 04:56 PM
This forum member lives here

Simon Cann has written books on sound design... somewhere on there I think you can still find a link to a free e-book.

http://noisesculpture.com

Howard Scarr was mentioned above, he might be one of the more important sound designers of our time, and now works for u-He (makers of the Zebra2 softsynth)... you might download at least the demo for Zebra2 and work through some of his tutorials on it, because Zebra2 is a semi-modular synth that once you learn some finer points about it, programming the Virus is going to seem like cake.

http://www.u-he.com
Old 16.08.2011, 12:46 AM
Complete Newbie

Thanks for the information!!!

All the sites look very interesting, but I particularly like the http://noisesculpture.com site. I plan on ordering a couple of books later tonight.