Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > Sound designing

Sound designing Discussion about sound designing with the Virus series synths. Share patches and your knowledge or ask questions.

Old 26.06.2013, 09:53 PM
Coming down with a bug...
Complete Newbie

Default Replace Moog Sub Phatty With Virus

Howdy-

I'm looking for advice on making a musically useful howling resonant filter lead and also a musically pleasant slow vintage-sounding filter sweep similar to what comes out of my Moog Sub Phatty almost without doing anything.

I'm hoping to consolidate down a bit for my live setup by replicating my favorite Sub Phatty patches onto the Virus. The Moog Sub Phatty has the notorious ladder filter which resonates so musically. I've given it a lot of thought and the way I've come to describe this to myself is that the resonant tone is thicker on the Moog. When I patch this through a delay (DL#7 on my Kaoss Pad KP# in my case.) you get these thick screaming howls that are loud and hard to ignore but musical and pleasant. Or when you LFO the filter slowly you can bring out this satisfying buzzes that pad the sound and give great depth and motion.

When I try to reproduce these on the TI by watching the very cool boot camp videos and using the 'how to program analog manual' the resulting resonance is more of a screech with a harsh high component to the tone that easily slips into a hold-your-ears/apologize/reach-for-the-mains sound rather that something you can tweak and fiddle. They suggest using the 'analog' option for the first filter then tweaking the saturation level and adding 'feedback 1' from the 'analog character' menu. Doing this and throwing the signal into a delay more serves to wash out the sound than showcase it when compared to what I'm getting out of the Moog.