Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > General discussion about Access Virus

General discussion about Access Virus Discussion about Virus A, B, C and TI.

Old 14.01.2015, 12:09 AM
Coming down with a bug...
Complete Newbie

Default hardware step sequencer

hi to all!
I searching for some hardware able to sequence my virus. any suggestion?
i was thinking about a roland mc or an electribe, but I don t know if I can use them only with the virus engine excluding the sound of the other machine. only midi message for the sequencer. a thing like this..
thanks in advice
Old 14.01.2015, 02:50 PM
This forum member lives here

Is the goal to completely eliminate the use of a laptop or computer? Or is the goal simply to have a good hardware interface for sequencing without relying on mouse and keyboard?

Because if the latter, Native Instruments Maschine works well as a step sequencer, with a single USB cable going into the laptop from each Maschine and the Virus it would not be too intrusive or "computer feeling" and you can do everything you need to do from the hardware. I use Maschine in step mode all the time, it's fantastic.

Then slowly over time you would be mind-blown by all the other stuff you can do with Maschine besides sequence, like it could serve as your sampler for bouncing down your Virus sounds and keeping them there, freeing up voices on the Virus for other things if you wanted. Then you'd discover all the sounds that come with it, how easy it is to do automation etc.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--b8iue5lAk

The Mikros are very cost effective, however if the goal is to do a lot of work with only the hardware controller I'd probably get Studio for the better displays and more controls.

If the presence of a computer must be avoided then I dunno, something like Electribe like you said, or Akai Rhythm Wolf maybe.