Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > General discussion about Access Virus

General discussion about Access Virus Discussion about Virus A, B, C and TI.

Old 20.10.2009, 09:04 PM
Coming down with a bug...
New here

Default I Have a Polar. Now What??

I was hoping for a TI desktop and even emailed a guy about his C (but he never got back to me). found a deal on a Polar TI2 that I could not pass up. I am a total newbie at synthesis, which is why I considered getting a lower-priced model without all the bells and whistles. I do not know how to program synthesizers. What would you recommend as the best way to get to know this synth, short of just tooling around with it? Are there good books or ezine articles, etc? Synthesis seems like a pretty broad topic; are there baby steps I can take, etc? Basically, I want to get the most out of this unit and am looking for tips on how to do so. Many thanks.
Old 20.10.2009, 10:50 PM
New here
New here

Now you give it some one who has invested their time to learn what to do with a.... PROFESIONAL piece of audio equipment. Someone who deserves it. people like you piss me off......ever heard this "RTFM" it stands for READ THE FUCKING MANUAL.
Old 20.10.2009, 11:22 PM
Administrator
This forum member lives here

"Subtractive synthesis" is what you're looking at with the Virus. You start with a sound (an oscillator, or several), and then filter (similar to EQ) and shape and process it to get the sound you want.

At its most basic, synthesis has three elements: Oscillators, Filters, Amplifiers.

Oscillators are the sound generators. They generate waveforms that you can hear, and are controlled in pitch via the keyboard.
The Filters control the brightness or mellowness of the sound over time.
The Amplifier controls the changes of volume of the sound over time.