Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > General discussion > General discussion about music production

General discussion about music production Discussion concerning music production, composing, studio work, sequencing, software, etc.

Old 03.11.2004, 07:06 AM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

Default Software

Hi,

I am still a virus wannabe/newby (that is I am still looking for well priced new/used Virus C/KC) and a keen follower of the site.

I am curious reading some of the threads in here and at other forums, it amazes me how much software sequencing/recording, VST and effect plugins, editing etc most people profess to have. Call me naive, but surely people dont spend that much on software, I assume most people are using cracked versions. Thus far, in terms of software I am using only legitimate software e.g Cubase SE and sudio case plug ins , because I cant afford the SX2, 3, Nuendo, Sonar 3, 4 etc or the expensive plug ins. Am I my missing something ?

Regards
Aster
Old 03.11.2004, 10:24 AM
Forum Saviour
Aged Veteran

I don't think you are missing anything.

Personally my software is legitimate. I must admit when I started doing computer music (19 years ago) I was using a cracked copy of Cubase on an Atari ST.

I used cracked software for the majority of these years whilst learning the ropes and experimenting. About 5 years ago I started buying legitimate versions ond slowly replaced all my cracked software and sample CD's etc...

Many people who start out can't afford to buy the real McCoy so they take the option of using cracked software. I bought the legit stuff as I felt obliged to after years of learning with non-legit copies.

I am not trying to make a point or stear you towards using cracks or legit stuff I am simply stating how I came to have the software I currently own (probably to ease my guilty conscience - confession time and all that).