Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > General discussion about Access Virus

General discussion about Access Virus Discussion about Virus A, B, C and TI.

Old 23.04.2007, 02:31 PM
Definately caught something...
Complete Newbie

Default What is it with this Virus sound?

After ten years of ignorance, I got more interested in the Virus. I have to add, that I played with one of their first prototypes, back in the days, and that thing was buggy. That turned me off and I end up buying a NL2 that served me well over the years. However, the TI grabbed my attention with their extended sound possiblities, e.g. wavetable, grain.

Since there were some reported problems with the TI - and I do not really to update my equipment every week - I decided to go with a used Virus Classic. I thought this way I can evaluate the Virus sound and see if a bigger investment is needed in form of TI.

After weeks of programming I come to the realization that this is a love/hate machine. I love the sounds I get out of the board that easily can keep up with some of the older Roland stuff I owned many moons ago. Nice PWM basses, smooth pads, and all in stereo! However, when I try to do other things, mainly in the higher pitch range, things are getting ugly. For example, higher pitched sounds (whatever sound you choose), FM sounds in middle to higher pitch, saturation stage (at middle and higher pitch). All is full of aliasing.

Aliasing must not be bad, e.g. I love those PPG sounds that sometimes live off aliasing and be smoothen out by the filter. But I cannot get a control over the sound with the Virus filter. I made a test and fed the Virus filter with NL2 Oscillators at very high pitch. I did not notice any aliasing with the filters, so it must be the oscillator bank.