Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > General discussion about Access Virus

General discussion about Access Virus Discussion about Virus A, B, C and TI.

Old 05.08.2009, 02:40 AM
Coming down with a bug...
Complete Newbie

Default …returning to a hardware synth: Questions about the TI2

I was an owner of an original Virus "A" tabletop many years ago (and prior to that, I bought one of the first Nord Leads to hit the US). I eventually went to an all software + controllers setup which has served me quite well. However, this latest version of the Virus TI me looking @ a dedicated hardware synth for the first time in literally years. I think the VST integration is incredibly forward thinking but I do have a few questions about how it actually performs in the field.

First, my setup: Vista 64 Bit / Cubase 5 32 Bit / Quad 2.66 Proc / 8GB RAM / EMU 1820m PCI + Breakout Box

1) I have become so used to not having multitimbral limitations in software by simply running multiple instances of a plug-in. Obviously, you can only run one version of the TI2. What features will I "lose" by running the TI2 as a multitimbral instrument? I assume patches drop effects? Something else?

2) For convenience sake, it might be nice to occasionally use the TI2 as a sound card. However, I would ultimately record via the analog outs. I assume having the unit plugged in via USB AND running the audio out via @ that same time will not be an issue? I assume not, but I’d love to know if any “gotchas” exist.

3) I have seen some grumblings about the TI2's VST incarnation. Other than the complaints about audio quality (which I presume has to do w/ the lower bit depth of the USB?), are there any other issues to be aware of? Based on my setup above, any reason to suspect it will perform poorly?