Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > Trouble with your Access Virus?

Trouble with your Access Virus? Here you can get help when you have trouble or just don't know what to do.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21.10.2019, 11:12 PM
eflister eflister is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 21.10.2019
Posts: 2
Unhappy virus ti desktop won't boot

i have a virus ti desktop that has never had issues and worked fine last time i turned it on.
it's sat a few months untouched, attached to a surge protector. when
i went to turn it on today, i just get the backlight of the screen,
but it's blank and doesn't respond to anything (MIDI IN, buttons,
knobs).
if i unplug it and plug it in while holding:
TAP+CONFIG (supposed to pull up serial number/diagnostics), i get the
same blank screen.
ARP EDIT: same blank screen, but BPM and LOGO LED's go back and forth,
that's it.
EXIT: same blank screen, BPM LED fades in and out.

i've tried connecting via usb to the virus software on my computer,
but it shows no virus detected.

i am seeing a bright orange spark about 5mm across when i connect the
AC adaptor, maybe once every 2-3 times i plug it in. not sure if that
was there before.

the manual says you have to use the original AC adapter, but i'm wondering if it's worth trying a different one with the same specs?

i've tried emailing access and didn't get the automated reply they said i should expect. the closest service center they list is a couple states away. i wrote to them and they said they'd need me to ship it to them.

anyone have any experience with something like this or recommendations? thanks for your help!
-erik
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23.10.2019, 09:15 PM
orx65 orx65 is offline
Coming down with a bug...
New here
 
Join Date: 18.02.2019
Posts: 10
Default

Hi
Same problem of the brothers B/C check in this forum ..probably faulty the capacitor/s, you've need of a local electronic technician with skill on electronic components measurement..maybe some nerd specialized in car audio or televisions . anyway motherboard of a synth is not complicated only about power line . .however the best solution remain a musical instruments service.
Sorry for my English I'm Venetian.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01.11.2019, 09:33 PM
eflister eflister is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 21.10.2019
Posts: 2
Default

Well I took it in and it turns out the set resistor on the 7805 burned up. Still trying to figure out if it's possible to rebuild or if replacement boards are available. Kemper USA isn't being responsive to my shop, but I'd rather not ship to the closest authorized repair center (anyone have experience with Advanced Musical Electronics in LA?). Anyone ever run into anything like this? I had it behind a surge protector, which wasn't tripped, and there weren't any other signs of surges, etc.

Before and after hot air desoldering:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/3NYTMic5Z5nRikbm8
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Skin Designed by: Talk vBulletin
Copyright �2002-2015, Infekted.org