Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > General discussion about Access Virus

General discussion about Access Virus Discussion about Virus A, B, C and TI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16.07.2017, 03:14 PM
young_gun young_gun is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 16.07.2017
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to young_gun
Default LCD Issues with Virus C

Hi all,

I hate for this to be my 1st message to this board but it is what it is. My name is Ian and I'm from South Africa. I have collected vintage synths since the late 90's and I've been producing deep house and breaks since 1996. I started releasing music in 2002 (or thereabouts). This is the second Virus C I've owned, I sold it and deeply regretted it so here we are


I acquired a second hand Virus C about 2 weeks ago in rather tatty shape. I don't even want to guess whats been spilt on it but it was working 100%. My aim was to strip it, give it a clean, give the side ends a new lick of paint and be happy with the transaction. Unfortunately that is not what happened. I took the unit apart carefully (I have been restoring synth for a fair bit of time so this is not new to me) and everything came back together as expected. A shiny, new looking virus C although the LCD screen is futzing?!

Here's a video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CkbMIdXLwU

I checked the connections to the main board and everything connected fine although theres seems to be a bridging happening from pin 8 to pin 11 or 12? I suspect its supposed to be like this since even if the LCD controller board has been removed its still bridging via the main board so i'll leave it.

The unit is working fine audio wise, no issues at all, just the LCD screen is giving issues. I didn't dismantle the LCD unit at all, I just removed it from the chassis so its odd that it's doing this.

Any ideas what the issue may be?

Last edited by young_gun : 16.07.2017 at 06:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29.09.2017, 12:06 AM
pixie pixie is offline
Coming down with a bug...
Complete Newbie
 
Join Date: 19.01.2009
Posts: 16
Default

Hi Ian,
Have you seen this video ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImigoFK-ZeU
It's all about a backlight problem but could be helpful.
Concerning your own lcd issue I would bet on a contact issue between the ribbon cable and one of the boards. Check for cold/loose solder. The ribbon cable itself might be faulty, if you have a multimeter you can check continuity. Twisting the ribbon cable might cut one of the wire.

You can also ask access/kemper for the lcd board reference, maybe they have some spare or you might source one by yourself in online electronic shops.
http://www.gravitech.us/16chbllcdwib.html
I reckon this kind of lcd could be compatible since there are 16 soldering pads like yours.

Hope this helps & keep us posted
Frederic.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29.09.2017, 01:17 AM
Khazul's Avatar
Khazul Khazul is offline
This forum member lives here
This forum member lives here
 
Join Date: 08.07.2005
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 1,044
Send a message via MSN to Khazul
Default

Was the LCD on a rubber contact strip?

If so, Im guessing its not quite aligned right.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29.09.2017, 11:23 AM
young_gun young_gun is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 16.07.2017
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to young_gun
Default

I actually sorted the issue out by replacing the entire LCD unit (cost about $20 from RS Electronics) and remaking the ribbon cable. My suspicion is it was directly related to the ribbon cable just getting brittle over the years.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Skin Designed by: Talk vBulletin
Copyright 2002-2015, Infekted.org