Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > General discussion about Access Virus

General discussion about Access Virus Discussion about Virus A, B, C and TI.

Old 16.06.2009, 05:31 AM
Definately caught something...
Very mucho Newbie

Default Virus TI vs. TI2

interested in getting a virus TI desktop, and can get a TI for alot less than the TI2. are there any features that the TI2 has that the TI doesnt? also, how important is that extra 25% power? how often does the motherboard "overload" that this increase in power is worth it? anything else the TI2 can do that the regular TI cant?

im assuming the TI and TI2 have the same sound engine and sound exactly the same (right?).. im kinda new to synths so i want to get as much info as possible before i make the decision
Old 16.06.2009, 01:04 PM
New here
New here

A.f.a.I.k the sound capabilities of the ti 2 are exactly the same as the ti1, so the ti2 does not have extra functionality the ti1 lacks.
Whether this will remain so in the future I cannot tell, but given that the sound engines are the same, I assume the original TI will be catching up with all the updates for quite some time to come.

Is 25% extra worth it? Does the TI engine overload much? Well, It is fairly easy to overload the sound engine with just one patch: take two hypersaws+sub+osc 3, put unison on 8, add lot's of fx, set the amp release high and there you go... Any synth will drop out that way and the Virus is no exception, although the raw processing power is already a lot higher in the original TI than in most other synths you get at that price.